Disciplines of a Godly Young Man

Ok, I know I’m not that young, but this book was partly a read for work, but also partly a personal one.

Disciplines of a Godly Young Man By father and Son team Kent and Carey Hughes is in the “Disciplines of a Godly…” series aimed at, surprisingly, young men.

In it the authors set out a pattern for discipline, as something which is done out of a love for God, rather than a desire to gain merit in his eyes. They look at four main areas of discipline: Relationships; Soul; Character; and Ministry. They then break each of these areas down into smaller, more focussed sections, like purity and friendship in Purity and tongue, work and perseverance in Character.

Each chapter has an explanation of the Biblical discipline, then some food for thought and then question of application.

If you’re after an easy read then this isn’t it in some way, because it is a book which will challenge you. However, if you are someone who wants to have some help in living for Christ, then it is a very helpful book.

One of the most helpful comments I found was in the last chapter, when the authors recommend that instead of hiding under the covers because of the realisation of how much we fail, we prioritise disciplines which we know that are a struggle. This means that we don’t create a rod for our own back, but breaks down our task into smaller chunks which, with the help of God, are within our reach.

If, like me, you’re someone who struggles with the sin of apathy when it comes to our personal walk with Jesus, then this book (or the others in the series depending on your age and sex) is worth getting, and keeping. It will be a book that I come back to, to refresh my mind in ways I can better show my love for my saviour in my daily life.

Leave a comment